Random Friday Theatergoing and Companioning

John Leguizamo and Cedric the Entertainer in "American Buffalo"

John Leguizamo and Cedric the Entertainer in "American Buffalo"

It’s been another busy week here at the ol’ blog. Last night The Companion and I went to see the new Broadway revival of David Mamet’s American Buffalo. My review will be forthcoming on nytheatre.com, but I will say this much: it’s better than the lackluster reviews would lead one to believe. 

Earlier in the week, shooting continued on Byron Invented Boredom, the film in which I’m playing a womanizing ne’er-do-well. We crammed a lot into our one night of shooting including my very first on-screen sex scene. Talk about awkward. Now I understand what big time movie actors mean when they say these kinds of scenes are difficult to do.

Imagine you’re laying in bed, totally naked.

Now imagine a total stranger in laying next to you, also totally naked.

You don’t know each other at all. In fact, you’ve just met, like, five minutes earlier.

You have no intention of actually having sex. At this point, sex is about the furthest thing from either of your minds.

However, you have to pretend to be having sex.

With a total stranger.

In front of a room full of fully clothed people.

One of whom has a camera, and is filming the whole thing.

And…GO!

See what I mean? Awkward.

We all did our best to keep it loose – cracking jokes, left and right – but we were all more than a bit nervous, I think. As evidenced by the fact that, after we got the last shot in the sequence, the lady in question and I jumped out of bed in less time than it took you to finish this sentence. You have never seen two people throw their clothes back on so fast in your life.

I should mention, at this point, how supportive The Companion was about this whole thing. As I got increasingly panicky in the days leading up to this shoot, she kept me smoothed out and relaxed and breathing easy. She kept a cooler head about it than me – so much so that I probably should’ve sent her to shoot the scene in my place.

By the way: have I told you all how awesome The Companion is? Have I sung her praises and conveyed to all of you the depths of my feelings for this woman? I would need an entire lengthy blog post to do her justice. Hmm, there’s an idea…

In other news: have you bought a copy of Leonard Jacobs‘ new book yet? You really should – it’s pretty frappin’ sweet. Great pictures, and swell, informative text by Leonard. I’ll be forthcoming with my review of it pretty soon. In the meantime, gaze upon the cover and think about giving it as a Christmas present this year – either to yourself or your favorite theater fan. Here’s what it looks like…

1850-1970" by Leonard Jacobs

"Historic Photos of Broadway: New York Theater: 1850-1970" by Leonard Jacobs

Speaking of Christmas, it seems as if everyone I know has decided to do a show during December this year. And I mean everyone. The Companion and I have spent the past week and a half looking at our respective calendars and trying to figure out how we’re going to get it all done. This person’s show one week, that person’s show the following week, these people’s shows over the weekend – plus time and money left over for Christmas shopping and holiday parties/functions/gatherings. Note to all my friends: YOU’RE KILLING US! (But we love you nonetheless and we’re gonna try and make it. Really.)

Phew. Okay, Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, here’s this week’s Random Friday Top 10, featuring just a mere smattering of all the shows The Companion and I are going to try and see between now and December 20th. Wish us luck…

Oh Lord, please help me get to, at least, some of these shows. I’m feeling the time crunch already. And I thought the holiday season wasn’t going to be busy.

2 Responses to Random Friday Theatergoing and Companioning

  1. Julie Congress says:

    hey! thanks for the shout-out about Claire and the Ornithological Shadow. I hope you can make it! Hope all is well, Julie

  2. Heather says:

    I just got done a weekend of performing in a purple girdle underwear ensemble with a cast full of other people performing in their underwear. Your post just totally knocked all of my new-found body-boldness clean out of me out of me. Sex scene with a complete stranger? eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeekkkk!!!

Leave a Reply

