A Few Projects I’m Working On

Just a quick update on some upcoming projects I’m working on. After acting non-stop in seven shows since January, this is my idea of a calm, relaxing autumn…

  • This weekend I’m recording a voiceover for Piper McKenzie Productions’ latest opus, The Granduncle Quadrilogy: Tales from the Land of Ice, which will momentarily reunite me with fellow Babylon Babylon conspirators Jeff Lewonczyk, Hope Cartelli, Danny Bowes, Roger Nasser, V. Orion Delwaterman, and Robert Pinnock, as well as fellow No Applause, Don’t Throw Money castmate Art Wallace. Having no prior knowledge of this current endeavor, I couldn’t tell you what Granduncle creators Jeff and Hope have in store for audiences. However, considering their previous track record, it ought to be nice and fucked up (in the good way, of course).
  • This weekend also marks the beginning of principal photography on writer-director Danny Bowes’ short film, Byron Invented Boredom, in which I am playing the lead role – a womanizing bachelor who has to think about finally growing up when his illegitimate son shows up on his doorstep unannounced. (Am I really old enough to play a 21-year-old’s father? The song in my heart tells one story, the gray in my hair tells another.) Danny has assembled a great group for this shoot – including Samantha Mason (who played Lady M in writer-director Frank Cwiklik’s most recent incarnation of Bitch Macbeth), Brick Theater veteran Stacia French, fellow No Applause castmate Pete McNamara, and the ubiqutous Robert Pinnock – so this ought to be a lot of fun. Now I just have to learn my lines…
  • And, finally, autumn wouldn’t be complete without helping Grand Poobah Martin Denton prep the next annual installment of his famed Plays and Playwrights series. The upcoming edition features new plays by such New York and indie theater luminaries as Chris Harcum, Lenora Champagne, Eric Bland, Michael Laurence, Andrew Irons, and Randy Sharp. The book should be out in February 2009, so you definitely shouldn’t miss it. I’ll let you know more as we get closer to the publication date.

At this point, who knows what else autumn will bring (besides a lot of shows I have to go see)? Stay tuned to find out…

2 Responses to A Few Projects I’m Working On

  1. Heather says:

    Michael, you ARE too young to be playing a 21-yr-old’s father. I should be playing the 21-yr-old’s father.

    Nice to see your face (even briefly) last night. Best of luck with all of your projects.

  2. Heather, I think I’m too young to be playing a grown man’s father, too – thanks for publicly agreeing!
    : )

Leave a Reply

