Time Flies

As you can see, I’ve been a little absent from the blog recently. There are several reasons for this.

First was just plain ol’ post-Babylon decompression. We busted ass on that show for nearly three months and I needed a rest afterwards. Despite closing over six weeks ago, it’s almost as if the 30-person cast never stopped seeing each other: the company was so large that it has now become an email list unto itself, and nary a day goes by where I do not see or hear from one (or more) of my fellow Babylonians. We’ve grown into quite a close knit team, and one that I’m very glad to be a part of, even if I haven’t been able to attend any of the shows and parties they’ve all invited me to recently.

And why is that, you may ask? Because I’ve been working on shows of my own, of course – a pair of them for The Brick Theater’s Film Festival, both featuring a fair number of Babylonian alumni. This past weekend saw the two-night stand of Demons Five, Exorcists Nothing, a staged concert reading of an original comedy by William Peter Blatty, the Academy Award-winning screenwriter of The Exorcist. Crazy, weird, rude, crude humor served straight up and dirty by an all-star indie theater cast featuring Hope Cartelli, Fred Backus, Bryan Enk, Trav S.D., Kamran Khan, Robert Pinnock, Art Wallace, Christiaan Koop, and myself. Babylon director Jeff Lewonczyk supervised the mayhem, and a loose and sweaty time was had by all.

Next followed the opening of Q & A: The Perception of Dawn, a comedy conceived by fellow Babylonians Gyda Arber and Danny Bowes, who also co-star along with Rebecca Comtois, Jorge Cordova, and Ken Simon. The premise is simple: we play the volatile cast and crew of an indie movie that we’re promoting at a post-screening Q & A session that goes horribly, horribly wrong. Great fun so far, and our opening night crowd was very appreciative (which is just another way of saying they were laughing their fucking asses off). We even shot a ridiculous faux-trailer for the movie which you can see here.

And if that wasn’t enough, yesterday I started rehearsals for my next endeavor: Boomerang Theatre Company’s outdoor production of As You Like It, by none other than Mr. Willy Shakespeare. I’m happily reunited with fellow Blood Brothers alumni Matt Johnston and Jessi Gotta on this one, as well as Ms. Rebecca Comtois, and looking forward to my first partnership with fellow nytheatre.com colleague Matt Trumbull and the good folks at Boomerang.

So, I’ve been doing all of that.

Right near the tail end of Babylon, I also got sucked into a time-consuming temp job that prevented any daytime blogging at all. With my evenings and weekends taken up with rehearsals, it was difficult to find any time to sit down and blog at length. So I just took a couple of weeks off.

The time off has been good, and has given me much to think about, starting with the time-sucking temp job. What was supposed to be a three-month gig was cut short by two months after the woman I was assisting griped to H.R. about me. She didn’t like the way I was doing things (even though the work was getting done), and that’s fine. So I left unceremoniously a couple of weeks ago, and have been gleefully sitting at home ever since. I really love not working, except for the fact that it doesn’t pay.

But it got me thinking that maybe the abrupt end of my temp job was really a good thing. Because, honestly, I’ve been doing office work as a means of survival for eleven years now, and I am over it. With every passing day I temped for the good doctor, I began to think more and more, “Man, I am no one’s fucking little office bitch anymore. When this job’s over, I am through with this!”

And now I am through with it. I haven’t contacted any of my temp agencies to let them know I’m available. I haven’t gone looking for another permanent job, either. I know I’ll have to do something, in the short term, but I’ve decided to re-focus my energies on more theater-related matters.

That’s right, folks: I’m gonna try to get paid doing what I love and enjoy. Imagine that.

I’ve got a multitude of ideas running around in my head, some of which concern this blog, all of which involve getting paid for theater/artistic-type stuff. Every time I put a significant effort into landing an office gig, I got one without fail. So, now I’m gonna try to put a significant effort into landing…oh, I don’t know – say, a paid acting gig.

The Impossible Dream, you say? Maybe. But, I’m going for it anyway.

Needless to say, I’m going to keep you updated on my progress. In fact, I may be using this very blog to forward my progress. The ideas aren’t crystallized yet, but they’re getting there. More news to follow soon people. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

