The Slacker Re-Emerges

nytheatre mike in “3800 Elizabeth” 

Hi there. Remember me? I used to blog here? Yeah, me. Geez, it feels like forever since I last posted something. Maybe that’s just because so much has happened in the last week. The update starts right here and now.

First and foremost, however, I would just like to thank everyone who reads this thing. I check my blog stats every day and I see that you’re all checking in daily as well. I don’t know who most of you are, but I appreciate you stopping by. Please keep doing so, and I will do my best to post more often.

Now, on to the usual business…

For those of you who missed it, the final episode of 3800 Elizabeth went off without a hitch. Our guest stars, Alexis Black and Becky Byers, hit one out of the park. Special guest ringers Ben VandenBoom and Gyda Arber stole the show with a new live commercial. We played to a capacity crowd that included many familiar faces – including our core group of weekly regulars – and a lot of laughter. And, I must say, from my own standpoint I thought it may have been our best outing yet. Best to go out with a bang, I say.

There were obligatory celebratory drinks afterwards, where I experienced an unexpected outpouring of love regarding the show. One person after another kept telling me how much they’d enjoyed coming back week after week to watch the progression of the characters and their relationships with one another. I was happily astonished to see that everyone was downright sad to see the show end. One friend told me that he didn’t know what he was going to do on Sunday nights anymore. (To which I can only say: the cast will be happy to come over to your house and improv new episodes every week…for a price, that is.)

Seriously, though, thanks to everyone who came and saw the show, be it one episode or all of them. And thanks to everyone on my side of the stage who helped put it all together: my regular castmates, Iracel Rivero and Peter Handy; our fabulous guest stars – Ian W. Hill, Christiaan Koop, Hope Cartelli, Bryan Enk, Gyda Arber, Heath Kelts, Alexis Black, and Becky Byers; stage manager extraordinaire Berit Johnson; the good folks at The Battle Ranch, Abby Marcus and Qui Nguyen; and Art Wallace for contributing all of the hilarious video commercials. An all-around gratifying experience that I won’t soon forget.

Next order of business: this week’s Random Top 10, which comes a day late because I’m a slacker. Here is this week’s eclectic mix, courtesy of my iTunes library:

  • “Main Theme (From Silverado)” – Bruce Broughton (The Wild West: The Essential Western Film Music Collection)
  • “Gimme Back My Bullets” (Live) – Lynyrd Skynyrd (The Essential Lynyrd Skynyrd)
  • “Slit Skirts” – Pete Townshend (Anthology)
  • “High Wire” – Men at Work (Contraband: The Best of Men at Work)
  • “Regatta de Blanc” – The Police (Regatta de Blanc)
  • “Confessions of a Broken Heart” – Lindsay Lohan (A Little More Personal)
  • “These Days” – Jackson Browne (Solo Acoustic, Vol. 1)
  • “Battleflag (Lo-Fidelity Allstars Remix)” – Pigeonhed (Pigeonhed’s Flash Bulb Emergency Overflow Cavalcade of Remixes)
  • “Pure and Easy” – The Who (Who’s Next)
  • “Right Here, Right Now” – Jesus Jones (Doubt)

And on that note, have a Happy Easter. More updates to follow shortly. Promise.

Leave a Reply

