The Best New York Movies of All Time?

Manhattan

My younger sister frequently sends me all kinds of stuff she finds online, including numerous “Best of” lists (she and I are big fans of these). Here’s a good one she recently sent me: the Best New York Movies as selected by MSN. Not a bad list. Some of my all-time favorite Gotham movies – Manhattan, Superman, The Taking of Pelham One Two Three – made the cut easily. Others that I figured would be shoo-ins – like After Hours, Dog Day Afternoon, and The Warriors – were nowhere to be found. (And how about a shout-out to Fort Apache, The Bronx, just because?)

What’s your take on these? Got any favorite New York movies of your own? I’d love to know. Jump into the fray and submit your picks.

6 Responses to The Best New York Movies of All Time?

  1. Enk says:

    Bringing Out the Dead. It takes place in a New York that I actually know; Woody Allen’s films do not. Also rather fond of Spike Lee’s 25th Hour and Inside Man.

  2. Nice choices, Bryan. They don’t come any more New York than “Bringing Out the Dead.” One of Scorsese’s most underrated films. And “25th Hour” has some definite local flavor, what with Spike Lee, Ed Norton, and Phil Hoffman all involved.

  3. James says:

    “Manhattan” and “The 25th Hour” are good choices. I’d also submit “Smoke” by Wayne Wang & Paul Auster as being one of my favorite New York movies (although technically it’s a Brooklyn movie, I’ll leave it up to you as to whether or not it counts).

    Also, I remember when I first saw Larry Clark’s “Kids” in ’95, although I had only visited the city at the time (I wasn’t yet a resident), it was the first movie to me that looked and felt like New York.

  4. Bryan Enk says:

    Smoke is a great choice. I also have to add Die Hard With a Vengeance – it actually kind of got the geography right, and how often does that happen?

  5. Zack says:

    “Inside Man”, “25th Hour”, “Do the Right Thing”, anything by Spike Lee.

  6. “Smoke” – another great choice. Completely slipped my mind. A veeeerrry New York movie.

    I have to admit I’m a little surprised by the strong showing from Spike Lee here in the comments section. I honestly didn’t know he still had fans.

Leave a Reply

