Random Friday Top 10: Desert Island Discs Edition

The Beatles - Abbey Road

Well, it’s been quite a week, hasn’t it?

See what I mean? Quite a week.

So, with that in mind, I thought we’d take things easy today here at the ol’ blog and jump straight to this week’s Random Friday Top 10, which has a special theme today: Desert Island Discs. As in: which 10 albums would you want to have with you if you were stranded on a desert island? A tough question, I know, but one that’s always fun to answer. After much sweat-inducing contemplation, I selected 10 albums I would be perfectly happy to listen to over and over (as I’ve already been doing for many years now). Here they are:

Mind you those are just my choices for today. Ask me again tomorrow and they might all be different. That’s the fun of this game: you can just keep playing and changing the list in a neverending quest for the perfect combination.

What would your Desert Island Discs be, dear reader? I would love to know. Leave me a comment or shoot me an email. Let’s see if we can get a good discussion going on this. My good buddy, Kevin Doyle – a known music maven in his own right – already weighed in with his picks. Check it:

  • The National – The Boxer
  • Bob Dylan – Blood on the Tracks
  • Neil Young – Freedom
  • Yo La Tengo – Night Falls Over Hoboken
  • Gillian Welch – Time (The Revelator)
  • Roger Waters – Amusing Ourselves to Death
  • U2 – The Joshua Tree
  • Spiritualized – Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space
  • Slumber Party – Slumber Party
  • The Flaming Lips – The Soft Bulletin

I’m not familiar with most of these, except for the really obvious ones. The Neil Young record is excellent, The Joshua Tree is a sentimental favorite (harking back to my junior year of high school), and obviously I like the Dylan album. 

That’s all I got right now, people. Happy Friday and have a good weekend. And don’t forget to come see Episode 2 of my show this Sunday night.

Leave a Reply

