It’s Showtime Again

You may have noticed that I’ve been missing in action for a few weeks. That’s because the universe has been keeping me plenty busy. In addition to my everyday duties here at HQ, I’ve been doing a lot of acting, most of which has kept me in constant contact with several reviewer colleagues and several past and future Plays and Playwrights alumni.

First off, there’s my current show, which opened almost two weeks ago. It’s good, nasty Halloween-type fun featuring new works by James Comtois (author of The Adventures of Nervous-Boy, published in Plays and Playwrights 2007), Qui Nguyen (co-author of Vampire Cowboy Trilogy, from Plays and Playwrights 2005), and Mac Rogers (whose play, Universal Robots, will appear in the forthcoming Plays and Playwrights 2008), and it has been a lot of fun to work on. The show is full of stage combat and special effects, all of which is cool but a totally new experience for me. The Nosedivers are old pros at this kind of thing, however, and they have made everything very comfortable for the newbie. It’s been a pleasure working with them, and I’m grateful to them for giving me the opportunity to share the stage with two of my favorite indie theater mainstays, Jessi Gotta and Anna Kull. This also marks the third time I’ve worked with my talented nytheatre.com colleague Gyda Arber, and we just have more fun together with each passing show. (Gyda and I aren’t the only nytheatre.com reviewers involved in this show, by the way: co-author James is one of our contributors, as are co-directors Pete Boisvert and Matt Johnston.)

For those of you keeping score at home, this is also the show in which I infamously drop trou. Since I last wrote about that, the concept for that part of the show changed a little bit, and I am now less nude than I thought I would be: the front of me has been sort of covered, but the back of me is still on display, from head to toe, for all to see. (Gyda and I are united in nude rookie solidarity: she goes topless in another part of the show. We’re like war buddies now.)

The surprising thing I’ve learned about the whole nude endeavor is that it’s no big deal. Once the initial shock/impact/whatever-else-you-want-to-call-it wears off, it comes to be regarded as just another part of the show, something as ordinary as a costume change or a scene transition. Backstage, my castmates have adopted a seen-one-naked-bod-seen-‘em-all attitude towards the whole thing: Oh, look, there’s Mike’s butt again – wanna run lines?

However, the current show has been the tip of the iceberg as far as my recent activities go. I’ll have more to report in another blog post later this week. Stay tuned.

One Response to It’s Showtime Again

  1. Gyda says:

    nude rookie solidarity!!!!

Leave a Reply

