Who Is This Guy?

Those of you used to reading Martin Denton’s blog, the nytheatre i, here on this website may be wondering who I am. Allow me to introduce myself.

I’m Michael Criscuolo, NYTE‘s Staff Associate. I’ve been writing for nytheatre.com for almost six years. I’m also an actor, writer, director, and all-around entrenched member of New York’s indie theater community, which means I’ve done my share of the whole “starving artist” routine: worked corporate temp jobs, suffered through more than a few long-term survival jobs, done the circuit of now-legendary (and defunct) Lower East Side venues. I even started and ran my own theater company for a while (a long-standing indie theater rite of passage).

So, what am I doing here? Simple. Martin Denton, the editor of this website (and my boss) asked me if I wanted my own blog. I said, “Sure. Why not?” Having never tried this blogging thing before, I thought I’d give it a shot. Blogs seem to be the wave of the future, and Lord knows I have enough opinions for one.

This blog is going to be similar to Martin’s in that it will look at what’s going on around the New York theatre scene, particularly with regard to indie theater (our bailiwick here at the site, as The Boss likes to say). Since I’m also a practitioner my views will likely be skewed towards the practical nuts-and-bolts aspects of how theatre happens and why people do it.

I suspect I may dedicate some time and space to the lifestyle of being an indie theater artist, and what it takes to be one in this day and age (which I’m already starting to chronicle in my nytheatrecast series, The Indie Theater Life). I have an abundance of information about this particular subject at my fingertips thanks to my fellow reviewers here at the website, almost all of whom are practitioners, as well.  So I imagine I’ll be talking to some of them from time to time for some firsthand information and reportage. Up close and personal, indeed.

As far as theatre gossip, world politics, current events, ragging on other critics, and disclosures about my personal life go: none of those will be happening here. Sorry. I’m just not that kind of guy. 

Hopefully, this blog will be another useful outpost for discussing some of the challenges of the indie theater life, and illuminating about some of its cloudier aspects.

I’m aiming to post something on here a minimum of three times a week, with room for growth if and when necessary. I’m entering uncharted territory here, so we’ll see what happens.

In the meantime, I welcome reader feedback. Leave a comment or send me an email. Tell me what you would like to read or learn more about. I’m here.

3 Responses to Who Is This Guy?

  1. Ian W. Hill says:

    MC,

    Glad to see you up and running — I’ve had this blog sitting, waiting in my blogreader since I discovered it in a Google search a few weeks ago. Looking forward to where you go.

  2. Congrats, Michael!

    I look forward to reading more…

  3. This is great, Michael.

    Can’t wait to read more.

    All the Best!

    TJC

Leave a Reply

